Bijapur District, Karnataka

Travelingbeats Logo

Location: Bijapur is located in the northern part of the Indian state of Karnataka. It shares boundary with Gulburga district in the east, Solapur district of Maharashtra in the north, Raichur district and Bagalkot district in the south and Bagalkot district, Belgaum district and Solapur district of Maharashtra in the west.

District Headquarter: Bijapur

Distance: Around 530 km from Bangalore, 550 km from Mumbai, 220 km from Hampi, 205 km from Belgaum, 129 km from Aihole, 148 km from Pattadakal and (132 kms) ·

Journey time: 8.5 – 9 hrs by bus from Bangalore, 10 hrs by train

How to reach there: By KSRTC bus from Bangalore, private bus or vehicle and by train (Basava express).

Route: Bangalore – Tumkur – Chitradurga – Hospet – Bijapur

Time to visit: summer is very hot. Ideal time would be between September and February.

Where to stay:

1. Hotel Pleasant Stay
Solapur Road
Bijapur – 586104
Ph: (08352) 326465‎, 261291‎
Mobile – 09880062225‎
Fax – (08352) 261499‎

2. Hotel Parekh Residency
B.L.D.E. Road (Next to Bajaj Showroom),
Bijapur – 586 101
Ph: 91-08352-242206,242207,242208
– 2 km from bus stand

3. Shashinag Residency
Solapur Bypass Road (NH 13)

4. Samrat hotel
Station Road
Ph: + 91 8352-21620

5. Sanman Hotel
Station Road
Opp. Gol Gumbaz
Ph: + 91 8352-21866

6. KSTDC Mayura Adil Shahi
Anand Mahal Road
Ph: +91 8352-20934

7. Sagar Deluxe Hotel
Near Basaveshwara Chowk

8. Madhuvan International
Station Road,
ph: +91 – 8352-234254

Where to eat:


1. Hotel Parekh Residency

Non Veg/Veg

1. Hotel Pleasant Stay

Language spoken: Kannada, Urdu, Hindi, Marathi. English is understood in urban areas typically.

ibrahim rauza

Bijapur city was founded by the Kalyani Chalukyas in the 10th-11th centuries and was known by the name Vijaypura (city of victory). By the end of 13th century Bijapur was under the control of Khilji Sultanate of Delhi. After its conquest by the Bahmani Sultanate of Gulbarga in 1347, they started to call it as Bijapur. However, due to infighting the Bahmani Sultanate broke into 5 independent states. One of them was Bijapur.

Bijapur sultanate was found by Yusuf Adil Shah, who was a governor of the Bahamani kingdom for this region. The Adil Shahi dynasty ruled for a long time and ended with the conquest of Bijapur by Mughal emperor Aurangzeb in 1686. Later, Asaf Jah – Mughal governor of the deccan revolted and declared independence. He created the state of Hyderabad and took the title of Nizam in 1724. Bijapur was a part of the Nizam territory.

Following the defeat of the Nizam by the Marathas in 1760, Bijapur went to the Maratha kings. After the defeat of Marathas by the British in 1818, Bijapur was given to the princely state of Satara. later, in 1848 Bijapur along with Satara was merged with the Bombay presidency by the British as the Satara king did not had any heir. During re-organization of states in 1956, Bijapur was merged with the state of Karnataka (Mysore state then).

What to see:

1. Gol Gumbaz: Gol Gumbaz is the monument of Mohammed Adil Shah who ruled Bijapur from 1627-1657. It was built by famous architect Yaqut of Dabu in 1659. The monument structure is of 4 pillars at 4 corners and a large dome at the middle. It is the second largest dome in the world next to St Peter’s Basilica in Rome. The architecture is very interesting. In the central chamber the sound echos 7 times and there is a Whispering Gallery where any sound can heard meters away. The Gol Gumbaz complex also has a mosque, museum etc. The monument was renovated recently by the ASI.


Around 8 km from here, one can see the sample model of Gol Gumbaz made before constructing the actual Gol Gumbaz.

2. Ibrahim Rauza: It is the tomb of the 5th king of the Adil Shahi dynasty, Ibrahim Adil Shah II who ruled Bijapur from ruled 1580-1627. He was know for religious tolerance. Ibrahim Rauza is a beautiful monument and it is said that the design of Taj Mahal was inspired from it.

ibrahim rauza

3. Jumma Masjid: Jumma Masjid is one of the biggest and beautiful mosque in this region. It was built by Ali Adil Shah I (1558-80). Here the Quran is written in gold. Mughal emperor Aurangzeb later built a beautiful entrance gate.

jumma masjid

4. Malik-e-Maidan: Malik – e – maidan literally means The Monarch of the Plains. It is the largest cannon of the medieval period and was bought from Ahmednagar after a war. It was placed on the Sherza Burj.


5. Upri Buruj: Upri Buruj is basically a watch tower built in around 1584 by Hyder Khan. It is located to the north of Dakhani Idgah and is also known by the name Hyder Burj or Upli Burj.

6. Chand Bawdi: It is a tank to constructed by Ali Adil Shah to meet the water requirements of Bijapur city. It is named after the king’s wife Chand Bibi.

7. Asar Mahal: Asar mahal used to act as a modern day court for delivering justice. It was constructed by Mohammed Adil Shah around 1646.

8. Gagan Mahal: Gagan Mahal literally means sky palace, was built by Sikandar Adil Shah. It was here, Sikandar Adil Shah surrendered to Mughal emperor Aurangzeb in 1681.

gagan mahal

9. Barakaman: Barakaman is a mausoleum of Ali Roza built in 1672.

10. Shri Shiddeshwar Temple: The Shiddeshwar temple is located in the Bijapur city.

Other places of interest: Anand Mahal, Jod Gumbaz, Sat Manzil, and Jal Manzil

Note: If you can, you should visit during the Bijapur music festival conducted by the government of Karnataka every year. Also, non veg food is a specialty here.

2 thoughts on “Bijapur District, Karnataka

Comments are closed.